Lagunitas Undercover Shut-Down (A Pointless Rambling)

IMAG2735_1

First post is about… beer. Not my favorite beer, but definitely one of my favorite breweries. That title of “one of my favorite breweries” comes from a combination of loving nearly all of their beers, connecting well with their brand image, and of course, their general proximity to my home which creates a sort of loyalty I cannot control. This is half review, half rambling, as no doubt most of my posts will be.

Brewery: Lagunitas Brewing Co. | Beer: Undercover Investigation Shut-Down Ale
Style: Imperial Mild | ABV: 9.7% | IBUs: 72
Serving Method: 12 oz. bottle poured directly into my mouth (which is why I won’t be commenting on color, etc.)

I got a little history on the Undercover Investigation Shut-Down Ale’s name when I visited the brewery in Petaluma for my last birthday. Basically,  Lagunitas was having a nice, little shindig on premise and some people were smoking some good ole California grown marijuana, and the ABC busted the brewery for “disorderly house” and “moral inturpitude.” They took away their license and Lagunitas was suspended for three weeks. For future reference, I highly recommend reading any and all creative wording stamped on Lagunitas’ bottles, 6-packs, cases, etc. as it will often provide you with a drop of education and a dab of wit.

I suppose I should touch on the inane classification of this beer as an “Imperial Mild.” Makes no sense. Those are opposites. However, it’s important to try new things that you might not think make sense or go so well together. Think sweet and sour pork; it might sound a little crazy if you’ve never heard of it before, but it’s still tasty, yes?

I think the classification is actually quite fitting; it is indeed strong like an imperial, but mild in the sense that it’s quite drinkable. My all time favorite beer would be the classic Lagunitas IPA, but I must admit,  if I’m in a hurry, it’s not going to work out. It’s delightfully hoppy, but isn’t something I can knock back in a rush. It once caused me to be several innings late to an A’s game because I couldn’t finish my half of the parking lot 6-pack fast enough. Luckily, it didn’t matter because it was… an A’s game.

Anyway, back to the Undercover Shut-Down. I don’t have a whole lot to say really, because it’s just not super special, in my opinion. I’d say it smells more hoppy (hoppier?) than it tastes and despite the relatively high alcohol content it goes down pretty easily. It’s slightly  fruity(in a good way, not in a “hey, is this beer or a cranberry cocktail?” sort of way). It also left me with a mild note of trees, more specifically pine, which is something I really like. And I know I said it smells more of hops than it tastes, but it is just hoppy enough, so no real complaints there. 

The Verdict: Delicious? Yes. Will I buy it again? If it’s on sale, absolutely. I would also considering buying it for a party where my parents’ friends are in attendence. Last time I got the IPA, and they’re all like “WOAHO, oh my Allie, you like ’em strong, dontcha?” followed by an elbow in my side, which you might imagine is incredibly irritating and I just have to smile and say “Yeah, I guess.” So I feel the Undercover Shut-Down is a beer that I can enjoy while the people who usually drink exclusively Blue Moons and Coronas could at least handle, if not also enjoy.

DISCLAIMER: This beer may be easy to drink, but do not forget that it’s not a Budweiser. I forgot and regretted it in the morning. Though I do partly blame the following day’s general feeling of all around GARBAGE on the two sips of absolutely horrendous wine I also had. Acacia’s Pinot Noir, just so you know. Do not, I repeat, do not allow this wine to go anywhere near your lips. You’d probably be happier if you spilled the entire bottle on your brand new white carpet than you would be if you drank it. To give you a brief summary: sweet. burnt. coffee. I think they may have used trash pails for barrels when making that one.

Leave a Reply

