The Tulip and the Hop: A Lover’s Quarrel– (A Brief Interview with) the Denogginizer

IMAG2770

Brewery: Drake’s Brewing | Beer: Denogginizer
Style: Imperial IPA| ABV: 9.75% | IBUs: 90
Serving Method: 22 oz. bottle poured into tulip glass

Oh, Drake’s. Oh you. Wonderful, delicious, local you. This San Leandro, CA brewery has recently captured my heart. Partly due to the fact that their brews have been growing on me of late, and partly due to the fact that they are only 45 minutes or so North of my residence–a location I fully intend to take advantage of by attending their First Friday festivities the next chance I get.

Anyway, on to the beer. I enjoyed this particular bottle at Market Beer Co. in the less popular of the two San Pedro Square Market buildings–you know, the one with the already notoriously overpriced sushi bar(Blush) and the delicious, but odd karaoke ice cream truck(Treatbot). I got a text from my friend informing me that he would be over an hour late, so I decided to start without him.

After an extraordinarily long time mulling over the bottle options in the fridges at Market Beer, I chose the Denogginizer. I typically don’t go for Imperial IPA’s because I feel the brewers are adding hops just to add hops, and eventually there’s a point where you have to say, “Okay. I think we may have reached the point where the amount of bitterness and the amount of pure taste bud joy are no longer positively correlated.”  Anywho, despite my general dislike for Imperial IPA’s, I quite like this one. It’s orangey copper color is quite pleasing to the eye and it’s very hoppy, but not to the point where my taste buds are trying to jump ship because they don’t even know what they’re tasting anymore. The idea is that hops aren’t the only flavor I’m tasting. It’s awful when they mask everything else with bitterness. At that point why not just give me a shot of vodka with a side of fresh hops? But really, let’s not. That sounds hideous.

The other flavors that can be found are mostly citrusy, but with a touch of sweetness- the latter mostly in the aroma though. Someone said to me they got lemon and marshmallows, but I’m voting for orange and more of a honey sweetness, which makes it sound like a Blue Moon, but I promise that’s not the case.

In short: solid beer in both taste and alcohol content. 9.75% is pretty good if you ask me. My only complaint about this beer would be the glass it was served in. Granted, that’s not Drake’s fault. It’s Market Beer’s issue. However, it’s unnecessary pretentiousness is quite fitting to the venue. But hey, at least they got rid of that ridiculous corkage fee, right? As for the tulip: I don’t care how much proven scientific research (as proven as science can be) you show me; I have no interest in the alleged volatile enhancing features of the tulip shaped glass. It’s douchebaggery and nothing more.

Leave a Reply

